Naming things is hard

There are only two hard things in Computer Science: cache invalidation and naming things.

— Phil Karlton

I thought this was a good way to get rolling on this blog. I’ve always been really bad at introducing myself (in real life too) so just go with it. If it helps, just picture someone standing up in a room full of people sweating profusely and mumbling while reading this.

Naming things is really hard. This isn’t just in relation to computer science either. My wife and I spent months picking out our kids names (I think we only decided on the 2nd kids name on his due date).

I spend (probably too much) time every day sitting in front of my computer trying to think of a good name for something. When I finally decide that it sounds good, I plow onwards until I reach my next naming problem. The really bad part is that you end up with a lot of code that looks like this –

UnitBuilder unitBuilder = new UnitBuilder();

The new name you come up with is so good, you end up using it for an instance and a class. I’m not going to throw away gold like that.

Naming this blog was hard too. I think it took me close to a week to even come up with one name. They were all terrible of course, I mean how do you name something that can be about anything to do with programming. I don’t know about you, but I think the best programming blog name has to be CodingHorror. My rejects included NeverendingCoding and StumblingThroughCode. I even tried this whole blogging thing once before and came up with the super clever name of EternallyRefactoring (I told my wife and she didn’t know what that meant, probably a red flag).

Somehow, I thought I’d found a good one that nobody else was using, CodeBlock.wordpress.com, but of course that was already taken, along with CodeBlog, AnotherCodeBlog and countless other “clever” ideas that I had. Anyway, here’s where I ended up. The idea for me is that you insert a breakpoint into your coding day to read my blog. Of course, if you’re a web dev you might be wondering what the hell a breakpoint is anyway.

Here’s a little about me. I’m a self-taught software developer. I didn’t get started until I was around 24, learning Java first and then moving into .NET with VB and C#. I’m now working full-time as a software developer in a small department of a large company, doing WPF and C# exclusively. I like to mess around with side projects in my spare time. I’ve developed a simple kids learning game for Android and iOS, and I have a couple of projects on GitHub that I’ve cobbled together when I find time.

This blog is probably going to be a stream of consciousness. Like I said, I tried this blogging thing once before and it didn’t really work out that well. I felt a lot of pressure to try and blog regularly and for all my blogs to be well researched. Not this time my friends. I’m going to be writing about things I’ve stumbled across at work or things I think people need to take a look at. That’s it. Very little research. If you’re looking for that, you’re in the wrong place bud.

Alright, thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

